Lost three fingers due to unsafe practices at work...
(Beckley, WV USA)
I lost several fingers at work. The first was at the joint of my left index finger, and lost 1st and 2nd at the joint of my middle and ring fingers on my left hand. I've been off work for exactly one month. Several other employees have complained about the unsafe practices that needed corrected. It took me losing 3 fingers to get a new system in place.
I know in my state I have the right to sue the employer for putting me directly at risk. Also, workers' comp is trying to pressure and bully me into going back to work before I'm even healed up. It's only been one month. I still can't even tie my shoes. I'm getting no physical therapy, and no mental therapy to help me cope.
Workers' compensation has sent me a little under $1,500 total. I wasn't born yesterday. How much money can I expect to gain as a result of losing these fingers (from a workers' comp settlement)? How much if I go after the company and win? Can I do that? Thanks.
Information provided in our response is NOT formal legal advice. It is generic legal information based on the very limited information provided. Under no circumstances should the information in our response, or anywhere else on this site be relied upon when deciding the proper course of a legal matter. Our response does NOT create an attorney-client relationship. Always
get a formal case review
from a licensed attorney in your area.
ANSWER for "Lost three fingers due to unsafe practices at work...":
A (Beckley, WV USA):
From the facts you present, you have sustained a permanent partial disability, or "PPD."
According to West Virginia Compensation regulations compensation, your settleenmt will be paid as follows:
The percentage of your wages will be paid at 66 and 2/3rds, not to exceed a weekly rate of $485.05 defined by the State of Virginia's weekly wage (SAWW).
The minimum weekly rate is $230.98, 33 1/3% of SAWW, not to exceed the Federal Minimum of $193.33 weekly or actual wages, if less.
Below is the schedule for settlement representing permanent partial disability in the State of West Virginia:
First finger (index finger). . . . . . . 35 weeks
Second finger. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 weeks
Third finger. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20 weeks
Fourth finger (little finger). . . . . . 15 weeks
Depending upon which fingers were lost, the above list of benefits should apply.
The above is general information. Laws change frequently, and across jurisdictions. You should get a personalized case evaluation from an attorney licensed in your state. Find a local attorney to give you a free case review here, or call (888) 647-2490.
Best of luck,
P.S. Please help us out by sharing this site...