Mail carrier with tendonitis in left foot...

by Anonymous
(South Carolina)

I was a city letter carrier for 14 years for the United States Postal Service in SC and now I suffer with tendonitis in my left foot. After going on medical leave and undergoing physical therapy, my foot was the same. The doctor said that my only other alternative was surgery, but that he could not guarantee that the surgery would do any good due to the demands my job had on my foot.

I then resigned from my job due to no longer being able to perform my duties. I believe the tendonitis was caused by my job, but never filed a workman's comp claim because I did not have an accident, but the injury was caused by repetition on my job. It has been almost 2 years since I quit my job.

Is it too late to file for workman's comp?

Visitor Question:
Disclaimer: Information provided in our response is NOT formal legal advice. It is generic legal information based on the very limited information provided. Under no circumstances should the information in our response, or anywhere else on this site be relied upon when deciding the proper course of a legal matter. Our response does NOT create an attorney-client relationship. Always get a formal case review from a licensed attorney in your area.

ANSWER for "Mail carrier with tendonitis in left foot...":

Anonymous (South Carolina):

The United States Department of Labor sets the requisite injury notification period for filing a workers compensation claims. Under the federal workers compensation Act you have 30 days from the date of your injury to file your claim. To read more about the federal workers compensation act go to http://www.dol.gov/owcp/dfec/regs/statutes/feca.htm

Below is the section of the act which is directly related to your question...

ยง8119. Notice of injury or death

An employee injured in the performance of his duty, or someone on his behalf, shall give notice thereof. Notice of a death believed to be related to the employment shall be given by an eligible beneficiary specified in section 8133 of this title, or someone on his behalf. A notice of injury or death shall--

(a) be given within 30 days after the injury or death;

(b) be given to the immediate superior of the employee by personal delivery or by depositing it in the mail properly stamped and addressed;

(c) be in writing;

(d) state the name and address of the employee;

(e) state the year, month, day, and hour when and the particular locality where the injury or death occurred;

(f) state the cause and nature of the injury, or, in the case of death, the employment factors believed to be the cause; and

(g) be signed by and contain the address of the individual giving the notice."

The above is general information. Laws change frequently, and across jurisdictions. You should get a personalized case evaluation from an attorney licensed in your state. Find a local attorney to give you a free case review here, or call (888) 647-2490.

Best of luck,

Judge Calisi

P.S. Please help us out by sharing this site...

Click here to post comments

Return to Federal Workers' Compensation Questions

How Much Is Your Claim Worth?

Find out now with a FREE case review from an attorney...

How Much Are Your
Injuries Worth?

Find out with a
free attorney review:

TYPE OF ACCIDENT
AUTO ACCIDENT
PERSONAL INJURY
WORKERS COMPENSATION
MEDICAL ERROR
YES! I WANT FAIR COMPENSATION