Visitor Question

Business Vehicle Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements?

Submitted By: Jodi (Reno, NV)

My son and I were rear ended in the middle of an intersection in a multi car pile up. The driver in front of me (landscape company) did not have his load in the back of his pickup truck secure. A metal rod fell out and I slowed to a stop to avoid hitting it, then we were hit by a another pick up truck behind us (construction company) who was hit by the at fault truck (nation wide electrician company).

The insurance company of the at fault truck has admitted fault. I would like to know what is the minimum insurance requirement for company vehicles in Nevada? Is there any other information I should know?

Disclaimer: Our response is not formal legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. It is generic legal information based on the very limited information provided. Do not rely upon the information in our response, or anywhere else on this site, when deciding the proper course of a legal matter. Always get a personalized case review from a local attorney.

Answer

Dear Jodi,

The State of Nevada does not require “company vehicles” to carry insurance limits higher than the state required “15/30/10”. That translates to $15,000 dollars of liability insurance for the first injured passenger, $30,000 dollars for two or more passengers (to be split according to type and cost of sustained injuries), and $10,000 dollars for property damage, also referred to as “comprehensive”.

Most businesses carry some form of insurance. Without a “Bond” (a euphemism for insurance) it is usually difficult for businesses to contract with other businesses, and in most cases, with consumers as well. In addition to the companies carrying insurance, the driver of the company vehicle normally carries personal insurance as well.

In cases of automobile collisions, the injured party may pursue their claim against the individual driver and the company.

There are those businesses, usually with few employees, who may not carry insurance. In those cases an injured party can only hope to pursue the driver’s insurance. In addition to that claim an injured party can still pursue a claim against the assets of the business itself.

The above is general information. Laws change frequently, and across jurisdictions. You should get a personalized case evaluation from a licensed attorney. Find a local attorney to give you a free case review here , or call (888) 647-2490.

Best of luck,

Published: September 1, 2011

How Much is Your Injury Claim Worth?

Find out now with a FREE case review from an attorney…

  • Your Accident
  • Your Claim
  • Contact Info
  • Your Evaluation
array(1) {
  [0]=>
  object(WP_Term)#2437 (11) {
    ["term_id"]=>
    int(616)
    ["name"]=>
    string(41) "Injury Claims for Rear-end Auto Accidents"
    ["slug"]=>
    string(11) "page_id_400"
    ["term_group"]=>
    int(0)
    ["term_taxonomy_id"]=>
    int(616)
    ["taxonomy"]=>
    string(12) "icc_qa_group"
    ["description"]=>
    string(0) ""
    ["parent"]=>
    int(0)
    ["count"]=>
    int(60)
    ["filter"]=>
    string(3) "raw"
    ["term_order"]=>
    string(3) "266"
  }
}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *