Visitor Question

Is Georgia a No Fault State?

Submitted By: Pamela (Chicago, IL)

My son was involved in a car accident with his friend in Georgia. There were no other cars involved. The friend ran into a tree and totaled the car, then left my son with injuries to his back and a few cuts and bruises.

How will my son be compensated for his injures in the state of Georgia? Is Georgia a no fault state? What is the limit of liability in Georgia? Thank you.

Disclaimer: Our response is not formal legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. It is generic legal information based on the very limited information provided. Do not rely upon the information in our response, or anywhere else on this site, when deciding the proper course of a legal matter. Always get a personalized case review from a local attorney.


Dear Pamela,

The State of Georgia is NOT a No-Fault car insurance liability state.

Therefore, there aren’t any restrictions on the amount your son can sue for (if necessary), nor does he have to turn to his own insurance company for compensation. His action will be against the friend and his insurance company.

The State of Georgia doesn’t have any limit of liability for a personal injury case. The amount of compensation will be directly proportionate to the severity of your son’s injuries, his medical bills, out of pocket expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.

Any action your son takes against his friend will have to be in the State of Georgia. Hopefully the negotiations can be fully resolved over the telephone.

Make sure your son is fully healed before agreeing to any final settlement. Depending on the length and breadth of your son’s injuries, resultant treatment and costs, the amount of his demand should be an extrapolation of his medical bills, or of the amount of time he will be in treatment.

Learn more here: Georgia Car Accident Guide

The above is general information. Laws change frequently, and across jurisdictions. You should get a personalized case evaluation from a licensed attorney.

Find a local attorney to give you a free case review here, or call 888-972-0892.

We wish you the best with your claim,


One comment on “Is Georgia a No Fault State?

  1. Carey says:

    I was in a limousine and another driver hit us. The limousine insurance company only offering me$5000 but my medical bills are $9000.

Leave a Comment

Don’t ask a personal injury question here – comments are not reviewed by an attorney. Ask your question on this page. Required fields are marked *